Skip to Main Content

Summer 2024 Library Closure

Library Support and Services During Summer Closure
Updated May 16, 2024

The Library building is temporarily closed for approximately 8-10 weeks from May 15 through July 31, 2024. The Division of Facilities and Campus Operations will be updating the electrical system. Despite the closure, the Library staff remains committed to offering students, faculty, and staff exceptional research services and study support.

Library Services

Library staff members will be providing limited services and resources on the 4th floor and 5th floor of the Howe Center, Monday through Friday, 9am-5pm.

  • Study space will be available (4th floor, Skyline Room, Howe Center).  Please note there are additional places to study in the University Center, Babbio Center, and Gateway Academic Center. Laptop loans and desktop computers are unavailable during the temporary closure.  
  • Printer/copier will be available in the Skyline Room on the 4th floor of the Howe Center.
  • Circulation Services (print book borrowing and returning). See below for print book borrowing. (5th floor, Howe Center)
  • Interlibrary Loan: ILL books may be picked up and returned on the 5th floor of the Howe Center in the Library staff’s temporary office area. To request a book or article, please visit Interlibrary Loan. 
  • Library Staff offices will be located on the 5th floor of the Howe Center.

Research Assistance

Librarians will be available to help you throughout the summer!

Print Book Borrowing, Renewing, and Returning

Book borrowing from our print book collection will be unavailable during the Library shutdown period.  However, if there is a book you need, please request it through Interlibrary Loan and we will borrow it for you from another library. Also if you have books to return or renew:

  • Please renew the book online or contact library@stevens.edu to renew your book.  
  • Or, you can return the book to the Library staff in our temporary offices on the 5th floor of the Howe Center (Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm).

Online databases and website

All of the Library’s online research databases, research guides, and tools will be available through the Library’s website.

Archives & Special Collections

The Library Archives & Special Collections will temporarily close for in-person research visits and collections scanning during the summer of 2024.  Remote research assistance will remain available – contact us at library.stevens.edu/archives.  We invite you to visit our digital collections website with links to digitized photographs, manuscripts, exhibitions, oral histories, lectures, documentaries, and other A&SC materials.

iSTEM, ELC, the Drop-In Tutoring Center, TRAC, IT offices, and the basement-level classrooms and labs

The following offices/departments will be temporarily relocated as follows:

  • Information Technology - TRAC Office: Martha Bayard Stevens Hall (MBSH) Room 104
  • Information Technology - CSS Back Office: MBSH Room 105
  • Information Technology - XR Lab: MBSH Room 107
  • iSTEM Lab: MBSH Room 203
  • Drop-In Tutoring Center: Howe Center Room 303
  • ELC: Please contact Samaneh Jafari, Ph.D., Director of English Language Communications, sjafari@stevens.edu.

More questions?

Contact Linda Beninghove, Library Director, for any questions about the temporary Library closure.

Feel free to email us with questions about the Library at library@stevens.edu or chat live with us!

The Library is here for you!