Birds

The Cornell Lab of Ornithology provides a massively useful and interesting database of North American birds, including a bird guide with species info and birdcalls, bird ID help, life history, and conservation research. The Cornell Lab is involved with many aspects of bird research, including citizen science projects, and provides amateur birders with lectures, online courses, and lots of info.

Cornell's Birds of the World provides "comprehensive life histories for all bird species and families." You can access the free preview account and taxonomy search; more info available by subscription.

Explore the virtual mural! "The mural, titled 'From So Simple a Beginning,' is a one-of-a-kind celebration of the world of birds. Envisioned by Cornell Lab ornithologists to showcase biodiversity and evolutionary change, the project features species from all surviving bird families alongside a select group of extinct ancestors. It takes a big painting to do justice to the phenomenal history and diversity of birds. The Cornell Lab and Ink Dwell studio have combined efforts on the mural covering about 3,000 square feet (280 square meters) of wall space in the Lab’s Visitor Center."

Avibase is a massive international database about birds, including regions, translations, and taxonomies. Managed by Denis Lepage and hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International. Available in many languages.

A database of bird species found at US national parks.

The list of bird species found in NJ from the NJ Department of Environmental Protection.

The Cornell Lab of Ornithology provides a massively useful and interesting database of North American birds, including a bird guide with species info and birdcalls, bird ID help, life history, and conservation research. The Cornell Lab is involved with many aspects of bird research, including citizen science projects, and provides amateur birders with lectures, online courses, and lots of info.

The Audubon Society's guide to species found in North America.

A Canadian birding organization with information on species.

A detailed and regularly updated list of all species found in North and Middle America, from the American Ornithological Society.

A detailed, thorough list of the birds of South America, from the American Ornithological Society.