The Archives & Special Collections department at the Samuel C. Williams Library houses the University Archives, which includes departmental records, oral histories, faculty papers, alumni collections, ephemera, university publications, audiovisual materials, and photographs documenting student and campus life. The Special Collections is comprised of manuscript collections, rare books, historic artifacts, and paintings. The Archives & Special Collections department actively collects primary source materials that document the history of Stevens, the Stevens family of Hoboken, and the history of science and technology.We assist scholars, including faculty, staff, students, local community members, and visitors from overseas with original research. In addition, we collaborate with faculty, staff, and local teachers (K-12) to provide education and outreach for the Archives & Special Collections, which also includes producing exhibitions and public programs related to the history of Stevens, the Stevens family, and the documentation of science and technology.
At this time, visitor access to the Library Archives & Special Collections is available for short-term visitors by appointment at a limited capacity. For research assistance related to the Library Archives & Special Collections or to make a research appointment please contact Leah Loscutoff and Ted Houghtaling (info below). In addition, we invite you to browse our digital collections portal for a selection of digitized manuscripts, photographs, exhibitions, oral histories, and more.
Research questions and more Information requests can be sent to Archives and Special Collections here.