CH 115: General Chemistry I

Introduction to Library Research Resources

Different information needs require different information tools. The Library provides access to a lot of research resources, both in print (such as books) and digital (including articles and ebooks). Digital information is collected and made available through subscription databases.

While "database" is a general term, the types of information you will find in these resources will vary based on the purpose of the database. Some are meant for research, to provide subscription access to journal articles. Some are meant for reference, information about doing a task or job. Your assignment is to use one of each.

LIBRARY TUTORIAL 1 ASSIGNMENT

Explore the below databases with the search term pyrotechnics and answer the follow-up quiz in Canvas.
 

1. AccessEngineering

What it is: A reference database from the publisher McGraw-Hill

What you'll find: Textbooks and reference books for all of the subfields of engineering

2. IEEE Xplore

What it is: A publisher database from the nonprofit society publisher IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)

What you'll find: Journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, courses, and IEEE standards for fields including electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science

More About... Library Databases

RESEARCH DATABASE

A research database usually contains digital journals and/or ebooks.

• Publisher databases: Many academic journals are published by a small number of publishing companies, and these companies often provide subscription access to these journals through their own databases. These databases are best if you know you're looking for a specific journal or field of study that the publisher is known to focus on.
  • Example: IEEE Xplore, a product of the publisher IEEE
  • Example: ScienceDirect, a product of the publisher Elsevier
• Aggregator databases: Some database companies collect the information published by other companies and in doing so, provide a broader means to find information on a topic. These databases are best if you want to find out what's been published on a topic.
  • Example: ProQuest Central
  • Example: EBSCOhost

REFERENCE DATABASE

Reference databases include handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, manuals and/or other sources for general information related to a field.

• Example: AccessEngineering, a product of the publisher McGraw-Hill, with a focus on engineering reference
• Example: Knovel, a product of the publisher Elsevier, with a focus on handbooks, chemical information, and textbooks

More About... Identifying Keywords

TERMS FROM YOUR RESEARCH TOPIC

Look for the major terms and concepts in your research topic or question and start making a list:

EXAMPLE: What have been the effects of microplastics in the ocean?

Keywords:

• Microplastics
• Ocean
• Effects

NOT keywords:

• What
• Have
• Of
• In (actually, this one might come in handy - we want to learn more about the effect of one concept in the other concept, but "in" as the word might be too general)

Concepts:

• Ocean pollution
• Plastic pollution

Now identify synonyms or different versions of your words and add them to your list:

• Ocean / marine / sea
• Effect / impact
• Microplastics / microplastic

Now you have something to work with!

TERMS FROM YOUR SEARCH RESULTS

As you search for information on this subject, you'll start to find other terms and ways of describing these concepts that might help you better find what you need. Add those to your list.

Find the Tutorial: LIBRARY TUTORIAL 1