Research Guides: HASS 105: Knowledge, Nature, Culture: Research Your Topic

Print & Digital Resources in the Library

Format	How & Where to Find Them In the LIBRARY BUILDING or on the WEBSITE
PRINT BOOKS	HOW: Library Catalog Search for specific titles with quotation marks around the full title. This will show you if we have access to it or not, and if not, you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan. WHERE: Second floor Bookshelves Reference spinner (near study rooms) First floor New books spinner (Great Hall) Textbooks (Circulation Desk)
EBOOKS	HOW: Library Catalog Search for specific titles with quotation marks around the full title. WHERE: A-Z Databases list Ebooks are accessible through Library subscription databases and readable through your browser.
PERIODICALS Journals, Newspapers & Magazines	HOW: Journal Finder Use the Journal Finder tool to search for for subscription and access information by title. WHERE: Digital subscriptions: A-Z Databases list Print archives: Third floor shelves
ARTICLES	HOW: Library Catalog Search for specific titles with quotation marks around the full title. This will show you if we have access to it or not, and if not, you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan. WHERE: A-Z Databases list (unless very old, in which case: third floor journal archives)
DATABASES	HOW & WHERE: A-Z Databases list Find them listed alphabetically or use the subject pulldown menu to narrow to those best for your subject.

Format

How & Where to Find Them

In the LIBRARY BUILDING or on the WEBSITE

PRINT BOOKS

Search for specific titles with quotation marks around the full title. This will show you if we have access to it or not, and if not, you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

WHERE:

Second floor
- Bookshelves
- Reference spinner (near study rooms)
First floor
- New books spinner (Great Hall)
- Textbooks (Circulation Desk)

EBOOKS

HOW: Library Catalog

Search for specific titles with quotation marks around the full title.

WHERE: A-Z Databases list

Ebooks are accessible through Library subscription databases and readable through your browser.

PERIODICALS

Journals, Newspapers & Magazines

HOW: Journal Finder

Use the Journal Finder tool to search for for subscription and access information by title.

WHERE:

Digital subscriptions: A-Z Databases list
Print archives: Third floor shelves

ARTICLES

HOW: Library Catalog

Search for specific titles with quotation marks around the full title. This will show you if we have access to it or not, and if not, you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

WHERE: A-Z Databases list (unless very old, in which case: third floor journal archives)

DATABASES

HOW & WHERE: A-Z Databases list

Find them listed alphabetically or use the subject pulldown menu to narrow to those best for your subject.

Where to Search

Note: Log into Okta if prompted with your myStevens username/password.

Broad Coverage

Databases that cover a wide range of subjects and material.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Look through all of our EBSCOhost databases (including Academic Search Premier, ERIC, GreenFILE, Business Source Premier, and more) at once!
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to a vast array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers from all over the world through databases including News & Newspapers, ABI/INFORM, Ebook Central, and many more. Recommended for all subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a scholarly database, provides access to scholarly journal articles on the arts, sciences, social sciences, management, mathematics, and statistics, as well as images and primary sources. As JSTOR is an archival database, full-text availability of most journals starts from their first year of publication, while more recently published journal content is available after an embargo period.

Subject-Specific Databases

Collections of material with a subject focus.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic research focus, primarily (but not entirely) peer-reviewed research articles.
EBSCOhost database.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education focus. The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, includes journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
EBSCOhost database.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environmental/sustainability focus. Information available includes articles, government information, books, and book reviews.
EBSCOhost database.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
News focus. Historical and current, national and international newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
ProQuest database.

HASS 105: Knowledge, Nature, Culture