Research Guides: Pinnacle Scholars: Healthcare: Literature Searching

Literature Searching: Citation Indexes

Citation indexes help you find most of the articles published on a topic from a broad range of fields, regardless of publisher.

Scopus and Web of Science track how often papers are cited, and it is through this citation analysis that you can get a sense of what people have written and what, based on the citations, are considered foundational papers in the field. You should do your search in both to make sure you're catching everything; while there is a fair amount of overlap, they draw from different collections of publications.

Note: log into Okta if prompted.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a citation index from the publisher Elsevier and includes journals and other sources from scientific and technical disciplines, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation index from a company called Clarivate Analytics and contains journals and other sources from in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

For more information about Scopus and Web of Science:

Citation Indexes: Scopus & Web of Science
by Vicky Orlofsky Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 3233 views this year

Literature Searching: Publisher/Subject Databases

These subscription databases have a strong focus in healthcare and biomedical issues.

Note: log into Okta if prompted.

Publisher Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a full-text scholarly and technical database from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, covering electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Its content includes journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, courses, and IEEE standards, with some content dating back to 1872.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journal articles, book chapters and supplementary data published by Elsevier. Topics covered include scientific, technical, and medical research including physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is a publisher database that contains full-text access to journals and books in subjects including science, engineering, technology, humanities and law.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is a publisher database that contains a large collection of online journals, books, and research resources which cover life, health, social, and physical sciences.

Subject Database

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to a vast array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers from all over the world through databases including News & Newspapers, ABI/INFORM, Ebook Central, and many more. Recommended for all subjects.

Looking for a specific journal?

Journal Finder
Use this tool to quickly find out if the library has access to a specific periodical.

Pinnacle Scholars: Healthcare

Literature Searching: Citation Indexes

Citation indexes help you find most of the articles published on a topic from a broad range of fields, regardless of publisher.

For more information about Scopus and Web of Science:

Literature Searching: Publisher/Subject Databases

These subscription databases have a strong focus in healthcare and biomedical issues.

Publisher Databases

Subject Database

Looking for a specific journal?

Find

Research Help

Services

Contact Us