Research Guides: HHS 323: Women and Gender in American History: Finding What You Need

Topic Choice and Brainstorming

When you have settled on a topic, the best first step is to start brainstorming subtopics and the kinds of information you'll need for each aspect of your larger question.

This can help you better identify both where to look and the keywords you'll use.

See below for more info and links to these databases. Note: log into Okta if prompted.

	Information Source	Best Bets
📑	Scholarly journals Scholarly research: Original research, review articles Discussion: Editors' notes, letters	Subject databases (aggregators) JSTOR Academic Search Premier Publisher databases Nature Science
📰	News and commentary Original research: Investigative news reporting Discussion: Editorials, analysis, letters to the editor	ProQuest Central / News & Newspapers Includes NY Times Historical and current Nexis Uni News and legal documents
📈	Citation indexes Citation overviews (NOT full text): Article references and citations	Web of Science - some arts and humanities coverage Scopus

Looking for a specific newspaper/magazine/journal?

Journal Finder
Use this tool to quickly find out if the library has access to a specific periodical.

News

Current national and international news from newspapers all over the world:

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The News & Newspapers database from ProQuest provides access to a wide variety of regional, national and international newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
OR search directly in ProQuest Central for news as well as other sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to a vast array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers from all over the world through databases including News & Newspapers, ABI/INFORM, Ebook Central, and many more. Recommended for all subjects.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes newspapers and magazines published worldwide, as well as legal and regulatory documents and business reports.

Historical national news from the New York Times since it was founded in 1851:

New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Stevens students, faculty, and staff can activate a digital subscription to the New York Times at no cost. Subscribers have a free, personal account at nytimes.com with access to digital content including videos, podcasts, and interactive media. Print & digital articles from 1851 to the present are also included. Create an account by using your Stevens email and a new password for NYTimes. Do NOT use your Stevens password. Click the blue button above for more info

Looking for a specific newspaper or magazine?

Journal Finder
Use this tool to quickly find out if the library has access to a specific periodical.

Topic Overviews: Citation Indexes

As citation indexes, Scopus and Web of Science track how often papers are cited, and it is through this citation analysis that you can find new articles of interest from the sources you've already found.

One good article provides you with a list of references as well as the cited-by list, which are newer articles that cite the one you have. This method of backward and forward searching will bring you articles on the subject you need that you might not have found through a keyword search.

Please note: Web of Science includes a wider collection of books and journals in the humanities field than Scopus does, but it can still be worth checking both.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Topics covered include scientific and technical disciplines, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. This Elsevier database allows for in-depth research of specialized fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. This database allows for in-depth research of specialized fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

HHS 323: Women and Gender in American History

Topic Choice and Brainstorming

When you have settled on a topic, the best first step is to start brainstorming subtopics and the kinds of information you'll need for each aspect of your larger question.

Information Source

Best Bets

Scholarly journals

News and commentary

Citation indexes

Looking for a specific newspaper/magazine/journal?

News

Current national and international news from newspapers all over the world:

Historical national news from the New York Times since it was founded in 1851:

Looking for a specific newspaper or magazine?

Topic Overviews: Citation Indexes

As citation indexes, Scopus and Web of Science track how often papers are cited, and it is through this citation analysis that you can find new articles of interest from the sources you've already found.

Find

Research Help

Services

Contact Us