Skip to Main Content

HLI 341 - English Romanticism

A research guide created for Professor Robin Hammerman's HLI 341- English Romanticism Course. Use the navigation on the left for articles, books, citations, and annotated bibliography information.

MLA 9: Works Cited

Your Works Cited page includes every item you have cited in text and provides as much bibliographic information as you're able to find so your readers can locate the sources themselves.

Page Format

  • Title: Works Cited
  • Page title is center-justified on the page, entries are left-justified with a hanging indent of a half-inch.
  • Entries listed alphabetically by author, or title of source if no author name.

Reference Format

The core elements of a journal/periodical article citation: Author. “Title.” Journal Title, vol. n, no. n, [year], pp. n-n. [Location].

If you're citing an online source, note that including the date you accessed the website is encouraged only when there's no publication date and you can't guarantee the website will still be there in the future.

 

EXAMPLES:
  • Newspaper article from a database; one author:
    Gross, Neil. “Does College Make You Vote?” Chronicle of Higher Education, vol. 59, 24 Nov. 2012, p. B2. EBSCOhost, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=83623976&site=ehost-live.
  • Scholarly article from a database; multiple authors:
    Larson, Lincoln R., et al. “The Future of Wildlife Conservation Funding: What Options Do U.S. College Students Support?” Conservation Science & Practice, vol. 3, no. 10, Oct. 2021, pp. 1–12. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1111/csp2.505.
  • Magazine article from a database; one author:
    Padilla, Dynahlee. “Tapping the Youth Vote.” Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, vol. 37, no. 18, Oct. 2020, pp. 20–21. EBSCOhost, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=146573844&site=ehost-live.
  • Scholarly article from a database; two authors:
    Spagnuolo, Natalie, and Fady Shanouda. “Who Counts and Who Is Counted? Conversations around Voting, Access, and Divisions in the Disability Community.” Disability & Society, vol. 32, no. 5, June 2017, pp. 701–19. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1080/09687599.2017.1324765.
  • Magazine article from a database; one author:
    Wolfe, Rob. “America’s Best Colleges for Student Voting.” Washington Monthly, vol. 54, no. 9/10, Sept. 2022, pp. 60–63. EBSCOhost, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=158554880&site=ehost-live.

More info about...

Author | Document Title | Journal/Source Title (Container) | Contributor | Version | Number | Publisher | Publication Date | Location | Supplemental Elements

Find more about these topics at the MLA Handbook sections linked throughout.

 

AUTHOR

More info: MLA Handbook 5.3-22

  • PEOPLE
    • 1 author: Surname, First.
      • Smith, Max.
    • 2 authors: Surname, First, and First Surname. List in order given on the document.
      • Smith, Max, and Sam Jones.
    • 3+ authors: Surname, First, et al. (which is Latin for "and others")
      • Smith, Max, et al.
    • Names that start with surname: Keep as is, with a comma between surname and first unless otherwise specified.ORGAN
      • Matsuo Bashō
    • No surname: if not in Firstname Surname order, keep as is. If it is, use reverse order.
      • Ngũgĩ wa Thiongʼo
    • Online handles: add in square brackets after author name, unless author name and handle are similar.
  • ORGANIZATIONS
    • Do not include articles (a/an/the), do not reverse names.
      • Beatles.
    • Corporate author (that is, a document attributed to a company or organization rather than a single person): spell out full name of organization
      • U.S. Department of Education.

DOCUMENT TITLE

More info: MLA Handbook 5.23-30

  • Full title in quotations, in Title Case - every major word capitalized, with period within quotes
    • “Tapping the Youth Vote.”
  • No title? Write a “concise but informative description of the work” (MLA Handbook)
  • Subtitle? Sometimes not obvious, so check the copyright page if available.

JOURNAL/SOURCE TITLE (which MLA calls the Container of the document)

More info: MLA Handbook 5.31-37

  • Full title in italics, in Title Case - every major word capitalized, followed by period
    • Diverse: Issues in Higher Education.
  • Container details:
    • 1 container: article read in print journal, tv show aired on tv, short story read in an anthology
    • 2 containers: journal article in database, tv show on platform, chapter in edited anthology read on a website
    • Works considered self-contained: book read in print, manuscript read in person, movie watched in a theater
    • What is not a container - things that didn’t publish the thing you’re reading. That is to say, Canvas is not a container of a link to article but it IS the container for a lecture video published in the course shell.

CONTRIBUTOR if applicable

More info: MLA Handbook 5.38-47

  • Translators, editors

VERSION if applicable

More info: MLA Handbook 5.48-50

  • Edition, if an e-book

NUMBER if part of a sequence

More info: MLA Handbook 5.51-53

  • JOURNAL ARTICLE: volume and issue numbers written abbreviated, followed by commas
    • vol. 12, no. 1,
  • MEDIA: season, episode
    • season 3, episode 4,

PUBLISHER

More info: MLA Handbook 5.54-67

  • Publisher
  • Website platform
  • Publisher name not necessary if:
    • It's ongoing - you don't need to list a publisher for a journal because it's an ongoing periodical
    • The website and publisher names are the same
    • It's a platform others use to put their stuff up (such as YouTube)

PUBLICATION DATE

More info: MLA Handbook 5.68-83

  • Day-month-year, with abbreviated month
    • Oct. 2020.
    • 4 Aug. 2022.

LOCATION - where to find it

More info: MLA Handbook 5.84-99

  • Fixed in print or other means: page numbers listed as "pp. n-n." ending in a period within quotations.
    • pp. 20-21.
  • Online: DOI, permalink, URL (in order of preference). DOI = "digital object identifier" and is a unique hyperlink given to a scholarly journal article upon publication.
    • DOI: 10.1126/sciimmunol.abo3420
    • But if you can't find the DOI or one doesn't exist, use the article permalink: https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/sciimmunol.abo3420

SUPPLEMENTAL ELEMENTS if applicable

More info: MLA Handbook 5.105-119

  • After SOURCE:
    • Contributor, original publication date, section of a work
  • After CONTAINER:
    • Date of access for online item but only if there's no given publication date or if the website/item might disappear
    • More details about document (format, dissertation, government doc, etc.)

Citing Films and Television

To cite correctly your film, here are the basic components you need to cite:

-List films by their title. Include the name of the director, the film studio or distributor, and the release year. If relevant, list performer names after the director's name.

Works Cited

Coogler, Ryan. Black Panther. Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, 2018.

Kubrick, Stanley. A Clockwork Orange. Warner Bros., 1971.

Soderbergh, Steven. Solaris. Twentieth Century Fox, 2002.

Tarkovsky, Andrei. Stalker. Janus Films, 1979.
 

In the case you want to draw attention to a particular actor or director in your works cited for ease of finding, you can list the actor or director first:

Scott, Ridley, director. Blade Runner. Warner Bros, 1982.

Adapted from Purdue Owl; Common Sources

Citing Images

If you’re using an image in your paper or research project:

Include a Figure number, shortened to “Fig.1” Also include the creator’s name, title of work (italicized), date of creation/publication, the medium of reproduction. Publication information of the source.See below example. 

 

FIG 1. Jackson, Jeff. Sean Young in Blade Runner. 6 Apr. 2003. Flickr
 
Works CIted:

Jackson, Jeff. Sean Young in Blade Runner. 6 Apr. 2003. Flickr

 

SCREENSHOT OF A FILM

Fig 2. Screenshot of Eleven in the "upside down" from the episode "The Bathtub" Stranger Things, Netflix, 2016. 

Works CIted:

“Chapter Seven: The Bathtub.” Stranger Things, Season 1, Episode 7, Netflix, 15 July 2016.

Interviews

ONLINE INTERVIEW

The above video interview would be cited:

Scott, Ridley. “Ridley Scott Breaks Down His Favorite Scene from Blade Runner | Blade Runner | Blade Runner | WIRED”    
     Interview by Wired. YouTube. 19 September 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpzFOHEO8Sc Accessed October    
     25. 2017.

TV INTERVIEW ON YOUTUBE

de Armas, Ana. Interview by James Cordon. The Late Late Show With James Corden. YouTube. Uploaded 6 October
     2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6ZRmTD_e2k Accessed October 25, 2017.

PRINT INTERVIEW

10 QUESTIONS FOR Ridley Scott

Luscombe, Belinda. "10 QUESTIONS for Ridley Scott." Time, vol. 168, no. 20, 13 Nov. 2006, p. 8. EBSCOhost,  
     ezproxy.stevens.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=22980126&site=ehost-
​     live.