Research Guides: EE/CPE 322: Design VI: Codes, Standards & Technical Reports

Standards & Codes

Library databases:

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a full-text scholarly and technical database from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, covering electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Its content includes journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, courses, and IEEE standards, with some content dating back to 1872.
Knovel Engineering & Scientific Online References This link opens in a new window
Knovel, an Elsevier database, provides handbooks, manuals, data sets, and calculators for engineering and science.

ASTM standards in print:

Annual Book of ASTM Standards (2015)
TA401 .A653
Kept in Sam's Place on the Library first floor.

Building standards and codes:

International Building Code 2018 (K3538.A15 I58)
Find the print edition of the IBC in Sam's Place on the Library first floor, near the construction management books.
New Jersey Building Codes
Look up codes in New Jersey in downloadable PDF format.
NJ Department of Community Affairs - Division of Codes and Standards
State of New York Codes
From the International Code Council.

International non-governmental organization:

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the world’s largest developer of voluntary International Standards. International Standards give state of the art specifications for products, services and good practice, helping to make industry more efficient and effective. Developed through global consensus, they help to break down barriers to international trade.

Private, non-profit organizations:

NSSN search engine for standards (powered by ANSI)
The NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards is a search engine that provides users with standards-related information from a wide range of developers, including organizations accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), other U.S. private sector standards bodies, government agencies and international organizations.
International Code Council (ICC)
The ICC writes the International Codes, or I-Codes, which "are a complete set of comprehensive, coordinated building safety and fire prevention codes. Building codes benefit public safety and support the industry’s need for one set of codes without regional limitations."

Standards stores:

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Electronic Standards Store
Search for standards from over 180 standards publishers by keyword or document number. Purchase standards online with a major credit card (Visa, MC or Amex), or deposit account Download standards immediately or obtain a multi user ANSI Site License. Compare various ways that you can obtain the standards you need.
IHS standards store
Techstreet Store
Instant access to 500,000+ industry codes and standards from around the world.
Owned by Thomson Reuters.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standards Portal
Provides answers to the critical standards, conformance, market access, and trade-related questions that companies require to succeed in the U.S. and internationally.