Skip to Main Content

⚠️ ALERT⚠️

The Library building is temporarily closed. Library staff and some services have been relocated to the 4th and 5th floors of the Howe Center.

Visit the following link for services and hours available at Howe: Library Support and Services During Summer Closure.

Ask a Librarian My Library Account

Citation Indexes: Scopus & Web of Science

How to use Scopus and Web of Science for basic research and in-depth literature searching.

Citation Indexes by Discipline

While Scopus and Web of Science cover the spectrum of research disciplines, some disciplines also maintain their own citation indexes which do the same citation analysis but with a narrower focus.

If you work primarily in any of the disciplines listed below, we recommend getting to know the relevant citation index as well as the more general ones. Some of these can also be found on the A-Z list of databases (log into Okta if prompted).

Biomedical/Health Sciences

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is an open access database of citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, the premier database of the National Library of Medicine, and additional life science journals.

Chemistry

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
SciFinder, from the American Chemical Society's Chemical Abstracts Service, is a portal for chemistry and chemistry-related information and research, providing access to chemical substances, sequences, and reactions as well as scholarly journal and patent references. First-time users need to register: Register here.

Computer & Information Science

CiteSeerX This link opens in a new window
CiteSeerx is an open access search engine and digital library with a focus on Computer Science and Information Science. It collects the full-text of publicly available articles as well as abstracts and citation data to allow researchers to search by topic, author, or table and then do further research through citations.

Physics

Astrophysics Data System (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory)
An open access citation index for the fields of astronomy and astrophysics.
INSPIRE
An open access citation index for the field of high energy physics.

Last Updated: May 16, 2024 11:34 AM
URL: https://library.stevens.edu/citationindex
Print Page

Subjects: Research Skills, Scholarly Communication

Tags: altmetrics, bibliometrics, metrics, research process