Research Guides: HASS 103: Writing and Communications Colloquium: Finding What You Need

Where to Find What You Need

Look for your topic in these Library databases for a variety of material, including academic research articles, trade publications, and popular sources.

Best Bet: Academic Search Premier

The Librarians recommend that you definitely try Academic Search Premier as it is broad in scope and includes a wide variety of material to use in your research.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier, an EBSCOhost database, is recommended for all subjects, including science, technology, engineering, social sciences, and humanities. Academic Search Premier contains a wide range of quality scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Access to this database is provided by the New Jersey State Library.

General Subject Databases

The Library subscribes to a number of databases that bring together a wide variety of subjects and content. Academic Search Premier is part of the broader collection from EBSCOhost.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost serves as a search portal to a collection of academic research databases, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, ERIC, GreenFILE, and MLA International Bibliography, among many others. To view the complete list of the databases available through EBSCOhost, click on "Choose Databases" on the EBSCOhost search page. Access to some of these databases is provided by the New Jersey State Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a scholarly database, provides access to scholarly journal articles on the arts, sciences, social sciences, management, mathematics, and statistics, as well as images and primary sources. As JSTOR is an archival database, full-text availability of most journals starts from their first year of publication, while more recently published journal content is available after an embargo period.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to a vast array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers from all over the world through databases including News & Newspapers, ABI/INFORM, Ebook Central, and many more. Recommended for all subjects.

News and Newspapers

While you'll find newspaper articles in some of the databases listed above, the databases included here are focused on newspapers and so will give you a better result when that's what you want.

You can also create a free account for the websites of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal to read current news and search their archives.

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Major national papers like the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times as well as international news and newspapers of American metro areas.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, a multidisciplinary database from the legal and business research company LexisNexis, provides the full text of newspapers and magazines published worldwide, as well as news transcripts, international, federal, and state legal and regulatory information, biographical information, and corporate reports.

NEWSPAPER WEBSITES: SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE ACCOUNT!

New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Stevens students, faculty, and staff can activate a digital subscription to the New York Times at no cost. Subscribers have a free, personal account at nytimes.com with access to digital content including videos, podcasts, and interactive media. Print & digital articles from 1851 to the present are also included. Create an account by using your Stevens email and a new password for NYTimes. Do NOT use your Stevens password. Click the blue button above for more info

Wall Street Journal Digital Edition
- This link opens in a new window
All current Stevens Institute of Technology students, faculty, and staff can activate a digital subscription to the Wall Street Journal. Subscribers will have full digital access to WSJ.com and WSJ apps, as well as a wide variety of content, from podcasts and newsletters to career insights and personal finance advice.

Images

Need image sources for your paper? Try the Library's image databases.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million* rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform.
ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
ImageQuest, part of Britannica Online, is a collection of high-quality photographs, illustrations, line drawings, engravings and clip art covering a wide range of subjects, including history, science, technology, politics, literature and geography. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial use in presentations, papers and other assignments.

HASS 103: Writing and Communications Colloquium

Where to Find What You Need

Look for your topic in these Library databases for a variety of material, including academic research articles, trade publications, and popular sources.

Best Bet: Academic Search Premier

General Subject Databases

News and Newspapers

NEWSPAPER WEBSITES: SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE ACCOUNT!

Images

Find

Research Help

Services

Contact Us