Research Guides: HASS 103: Writing and Communications Colloquium: Background Information for a Better Understanding

Background Information: Reference

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can be a helpful place to find basic info about your topic and related issues to see which of those interest you enough to write about them.

Check an online reference work like Wikipedia or Britannica Online or the dictionaries, encyclopedias, and guidebooks found in the Library catalog.

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online is the online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, a comprehensive reference work encompassing all knowledge, first published in print in 1768 and updated regularly since.

Wikipedia
Free, web-based encyclopedia featuring entries created and updated by diverse users. But remember - if you want to use any part of a Wikipedia entry in your paper, find the original mention in the list of works cited and USE THE ORIGINAL SOURCE.

Background Information: News & Primary Sources

How has your topic been discussed in the news?

You can find current newspapers in the databases below, or if you'd like to see the history of the subject as shown through the news, dig into New York Times Digital Edition.

New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Stevens students, faculty, and staff can activate a digital subscription to the New York Times at no cost. Subscribers have a free, personal account at nytimes.com with access to digital content including videos, podcasts, and interactive media. Print & digital articles from 1851 to the present are also included. Create an account by using your Stevens email and a new password for NYTimes. Do NOT use your Stevens password. Click the blue button above for more info
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the New York Times (1980-present), NYT Magazine (1997-present), NYT Book Review (1997-present), the Wall Street Journal (1984-present) and many other national newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes many national and international newspapers as well as the New York Times (1980-present).

HASS 103: Writing and Communications Colloquium

Background Information: Reference

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can be a helpful place to find basic info about your topic and related issues to see which of those interest you enough to write about them.

Background Information: News & Primary Sources

How has your topic been discussed in the news?

Find

Research Help

Services

Contact Us