Research Guides: Career Research: A Deeper Dive into Researching a Company

Company Research: Where to Start

When looking for information for a specific company, ask yourself these questions:

Is the company publicly traded or privately held?
- Does a company file documents with the SEC? Is their stock traded in a public stock exchange? Then it is public.
- Is a company owned by its founders or other individuals or groups? Is the stock unavailable for public purchase? Then it is private.
Is it a subsidiary of a larger company? If so, is that company public or private?
Is the company based in the US?

The Library has a number of useful databases and you can also find good information on some reliable web resources.

How to Determine If a Company is Public or Private
A guide from the University of Vermont.
BusinessDictionary.com
From WebFinance, Inc.
Campbell R. Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary
A large and thorough financial glossary from a Duke professor.

Company Industry Codes: NAICS & SIC

Finding a specific company's code:
To find a company's SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) and NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes, use the database Gale Business: Insights (linked below), and search for the company's name. When you find your desired company, look in the "Industry Classification" box, and you will find the SIC and NAICS codes that are associated with the company.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business: Insights is a business database that provides reports on private and public companies, industries, and countries, pulling from scholarly, trade, and news sources. Find SWOT analyses, market share reports, comparisons and case studies, as well as a glossary of business terms.

North American Industrial Classification (NAICS)
2-6 digit code. NAICS was developed by the U.S., Canada and Mexico in 1997 and is "used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy." Manual and search are on U.S. Census website.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
4-digit code, still used in some government agencies. The U.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) maintains the 1987 SIC manual so you can do a keyword search to find the relevant code.

Company Research: Reliable Sources

Library Databases

These include company profiles, and cover public, private, and/or international for-profit companies.

Log into myStevens/Okta if prompted.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
MOSTLY PUBLIC, SOME INTERNATIONAL. Company profiles and SWOT analyses includes academic and business journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
PUBLIC AND PRIVATE, AMERICAN AND INTERNATIONAL. Company profiles include company history, financial information, key executives, competitors, subsidiaries and affiliates, and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
PUBLIC AND PRIVATE, AMERICAN AND INTERNATIONAL. Marketline Company Profiles (the "Company Profiles" tab on the menu bar at the top) includes company information, leadership, history, SWOT analysis, competitors, subsidiaries, and more.
Data Axle • Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
PUBLIC AND PRIVATE, NORTH AMERICAN ONLY. A company directory that lists a company's address (or addresses if multiple locations) and sales/expenditures, competitors, and industry.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
MOSTLY PUBLIC, SOME PRIVATE, SOME INTERNATIONAL. Case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, SWOT analyses, academic journals and topical reference materials organized by country, company and industry.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
PUBLIC, PRIVATE, SOME INTERNATIONAL. Company reports, financial data, competitors, government filings (if public), and news.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
MOSTLY PUBLIC, SOME PRIVATE, SOME INTERNATIONAL. Company profiles include company news, competitors, financials, SEC filings, mergers and acquisitions, NAICS/SIC codes, and more.

Websites

Basic company info but also ads. Good for quick reference.

Don't forget to check the company's website for corporate info. Look for sections labeled "Corporate" or "Stockholders" for financial and governance data.

Yahoo! Finance
PUBLIC ONLY, SOME INTERNATIONAL. Company info and statistics, ownership, financial data, filings, and news. Lots of ads.

Company Statistics

Statista (basic account free but limited)
Statista culls its data from a number of market research companies, government filings, demographic research, trade groups, and others both domestic and international, and analyzes that data. Some is available without registration but download requires at least a basic account, while a fair amount is behind a paywall.
Statistic Brain
Partner to Statista but no registration or fee required. Statistic Brain's statistical analysis makes its sources obvious (as every interpretation of data should) and draws from mostly domestic information, covering consumer-related companies.

Company Finance

Securities & Exchange Commission

Beginners' Guide to Financial Statements (SEC)
How to read a company's filings with the SEC.
EDGAR Database from the SEC
Publicly traded companies must submit certain reports to the SEC. The 10-K is a company's annual report, including financial statements as well as a general update about how the company is doing. These and other SEC filings are often included in other databases, but they are available online for free.
SEC Live
SEC Live is a website that makes it easier to find and work with current and historical company reports from the SEC. You can search by company name or ticker symbol. It's free to use but registration is required.

Library Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Each Company Report includes a detailed Financials section, integrating SEC reports and Morningstar analysis.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company information includes a tab on Company Financials, incorporating SEC and international filings, and analysis.

Nonprofit Company Research

Nonprofit companies, other than private foundations, must file Form 990 with the IRS.

The following resources will provide company info for this type of organization.

Guidestar
Data from the IRS (where applicable) and company reports. Includes financial data, leadership, programs, and more. Registration required for more detailed reports.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Nonprofit data - includes filings, data and statistics, contributions broken down by geography, and more.
Charity Navigator
Charity information and ratings based on financial reports, accountability, and transparency.
Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance
Charity information for purposes of evaluation: governance, effectiveness, finances, and fund raising.

Company Brands, Trademarks & Symbols

Global Brand Database (WIPO)
Search more than 25 million records for "internationally protected trademarks, appellations of origin and armorial bearings, flags and other state emblems as well as the names, abbreviations and emblems of intergovernmental organizations." From the World IP Organization.

Career Research

Company Research: Where to Start

Company Industry Codes: NAICS & SIC

Company Research: Reliable Sources

Library Databases

Websites

Company Statistics

Company Finance

Securities & Exchange Commission

Library Databases

Nonprofit Company Research

Nonprofit companies, other than private foundations, must file Form 990 with the IRS.

Company Brands, Trademarks & Symbols

Find

Research Help

Services

Contact Us