Skip to Main Content

Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

This is a subject guide for Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, designed to give students and faculty a broad sense of resources available through the Library.

CEMS Research: Library Databases

Find the full text of research articles, standards, and other publications from these subscription databases.

Log into Okta if prompted.


Publisher Databases


Subject Databases


Library Database Search Bar

Search by keyword or your program to find the right database for your research.

Example: "chemical engineering"

Note: This search bar will provide you with a list of Library subscription databases by keyword so you can look for your topic in the right place; this does not search within the databases.


Preprint Repository

CEMS Research: Citation Indexes

When you need to include every article written on your topic for your project's report, there is no single place to look to make sure you've found everything. However, the job is made somewhat easier by databases known as citation indexes.

SciFinder-n, Scopus and Web of Science collect abstracts and citation data for all articles published by the set of academic journals included in their indexes based on specific criteria. Scopus and Web of Science are general subject with a strong focus in STEM, and SciFinder, from the American Chemical Society, has a chemistry focus.

These databases also track how often papers are cited, and it is through this citation analysis that you can get a sense of what people have written and what, based on the citations, are considered either foundational papers in the field or are new enough to be necessary to a review of the current trends. This citation data can be used to analyze scholarly research in many ways, including by topic, author, affiliation, publication, time period, and other factors. When looking for articles for a review article (or literature review), these tools are the best way to make sure you're reading the articles you should be.