Research Guides: BME 423: Biomedical Engineering Senior Design: Government Data &amp; Statistics

Government Data & Research

Biomedical Information from Federal Agencies

Information and research conducted by the federal government and international non-governmental organizations can be vital to your work, and is also usually free to read.

Use a government portal to find information on a topic by every relevant agency, or go directly to the federal departments that focus on biomedical research.

Government Portals

Search across government agencies.

SCIENCE RESEARCH

Science.gov
The results of federally funded science research: "more than 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.” Will include articles from PubMed and data sources from the CDC among its results.

DATA

Data.gov
The federal government's open data repository, with more than 300,000 data sets available for download and use.

Agencies of the Department of Health & Human Services

NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE (NLM)

ClinicalTrials.gov
A "registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world." Also links to the resulting publication when applicable.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus (not to be confused with MEDLINE, the PubMed journal index) is the NIH's database of health information for patients. MedlinePlus covers treatments, medications and supplements, medical terminology, and links to recent research on medical topics.
National Library of Medicine (NIH)
"The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics.” NLM databases include PubMed and MeSH.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is an open access database of citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, the premier database of the National Library of Medicine, and additional life science journals.

CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION (CDC)

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention: Data & Statistics
Data and statistics from the CDC, including the National Center for Health Statistics, disease tracking, vaccination tracking, and a lot more.
FastStats (CDC)
"Quick and easy access" to data on a number of major topics covered by CDC research, with links to the full reports.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
The National Center for Health Statistics collects statistics compiled through Centers for Disease Control and Prevention research on health and medical issues in the U.S. and abroad.

Government Research & Census Data

Federal research, reports and info

USA.gov
"Government information by topic and agency,” for federal, state, and local government data. The best place to start looking for a topic if you're not sure which agency/agencies would be involved, because it will bring back results from all of them! Everything else included in this list will generally also be findable via USA.gov.
Data.gov
Data and datasets collected by federal agencies, collected in one place for discovery and use.

Census data about the U.S.

U.S. Census
Demographic and economic information and datasets collected by the U.S. Census, searchable by topic (education, housing, income level, population, etc.) or geographical area.
U.S. Census: QuickFacts
"Statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more."

BME 423: Biomedical Engineering Senior Design