BME Research in Scholarly Databases
The journals and ebooks to which the Library subscribes are all routed through a database. These databases are provided either by the publisher or by companies that aggregate the journals of many publishers.
Log into Okta if prompted.
Key Databases for BME
PubMed is one of the best resources for biomedical research. Scopus and Web of Science are broader in subject but as citation indexes can help you when searching for research on any scholarly topic.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is an open access database of citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, the premier database of the National Library of Medicine, and additional life science journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Topics covered include scientific and technical disciplines, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. This Elsevier database allows for in-depth research of specialized fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. This database allows for in-depth research of specialized fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
More Help with Scopus & Web of Science
Publisher Databases
These databases include the full-text of articles for journals to which the Library subscribes. If you find a citation in PubMed or a citation index, you may be led to one of these databases to read the article.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIEEE Xplore is a full-text scholarly and technical database from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, covering electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Its content includes journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, courses, and IEEE standards, with some content dating back to 1872.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect provides full-text access to journal articles, book chapters and supplementary data published by Elsevier. Topics covered include scientific, technical, and medical research including physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink is a publisher database that contains full-text access to journals and books in subjects including science, engineering, technology, humanities and law.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowWiley Online Library is a publisher database that contains a large collection of online journals, books, and research resources which cover life, health, social, and physical sciences.
Subject Database
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central provides access to a vast array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers from all over the world through databases including News & Newspapers, ABI/INFORM, Ebook Central, and many more. Recommended for all subjects.
Library Database Search Bar
Search by keyword or your program to find the right database for your research.
Example: "biomedical engineering"
Note: This search bar will provide you with a list of Library subscription databases by keyword so you can look for your topic in the right place; this does not search within the databases.
This link opens in a new window
