Research Guides: Business & Management Research: Industry Research

North American Industrial Classification (NAICS)
2-6 digit code. NAICS was developed by the U.S., Canada and Mexico in 1997 and is "used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy." Manual and search are on U.S. Census website.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
4-digit code, still used in some government agencies. The U.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) maintains the 1987 SIC manual so you can do a keyword search to find the relevant code.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
International industry reports searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Industry profiles, domestic and international, searchable by NAICS code.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Domestic industry essays from the Encyclopedias of American Industries, Emerging Industries, and Global Industries, and market share data from the Market Share Reporter.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The "Search by Content Type" button on the upper right leads to the menu of everything included in Lexis-Nexis Academic. Go to the Company Dossier for Industry Reports. Search for industries by keyword or SIC code.

BizStats
Industry statistics: financial benchmarks, profitability risk data, a glossary, other statistics, and more.
Statista (basic account free but limited)
Statista culls its data from a number of market research companies, government filings, demographic research, trade groups, and others both domestic and international, and analyzes that data. Some is available without registration but download requires at least a basic account, while a fair amount is behind a paywall.
Statistic Brain
Partner to Statista but no registration or fee required. Mostly domestic sources provide data, analyzed in connection to related data. Covers mostly consumer-related industries.
GlobalEDGE Industry Profiles
Industry information from globalEDGE, a thorough resource about international business from the International Business Center at Michigan State University. Reports include background, data sources, regulatory agencies, major players, trade statistics, and more.
American Customer Satisfaction Index
An oft-conducted survey of American consumers to determine their satisfaction with goods and services of both domestic and international companies with a major presence in the US. Data is released regularly and includes benchmarks and reports for 43 industries.

Current Industrial Reports (CIR; US Census)
The Economic Census's Current Industrial Reports provides "monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity."
Economic Census (US Census)
"The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law."
Industry Statistics Portal (US Census)
The Economic Census's Industry Statistics Portal provides easy access to all of the considerable data collected by the Census that relates to every industry, searchable by title or NAICS code.
Statistics of US Businesses (US Census)
Statistics about American businesses that reflect "the number of firms, number of establishments, employment, and annual payroll for most U.S. business establishments," analyzed by geographical area, industry, and business size. Based on the current Census data, conducted in years ending in -2 and -7.

Business & Management Research