Research Guides: Vote!: Election Data & Research

Log into Okta if prompted.

How the President is Elected (USA.gov)
A full explanation of the process by which people who want to run for president submit their candidacy, the primary and caucus round of elections, and how a winner is decided in the general election, from USA.gov.

270 to Win
270towin.com is an interactive Electoral College map for each Presidential election and a history of Presidential elections in the United States. Since electoral votes are generally allocated on an "all or none" basis by state, the election of a U.S President is about winning the popular vote in enough states to achieve 270 electoral votes, a majority of the 538 that are available.
Dave Leip's Atlas of Presidential Elections
Provides results of U.S. Presidential Elections down to the county level. Data is collected from many official sources and presented here in one convenient location.

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is a database of information about American presidents. Their archives are constantly growing and currently contain more than 130,000 archival documents and other information. Find data, graphs and other information about every presidential election in American history.

Office of the Clerk of the US House of Representatives
Official vote counts from 1920 to the present for presidential and congressional elections compiled by the Office of the Clerk of the US House of Representatives. This site also contains links to election resources found on the websites of the Census Bureau, National Archives, Federal Election Commission, and state election offices.
Voting and Registration from the US Census
In election years, the Current Population Survey collects data on reported voting and registration, and later reports stats by turnout, age, race and origin. Reports, data, and graphics from the US Census.

American National Election Studies
ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate and conducts development work through pilot studies.
Elections Performance Index
The Elections Performance Index, housed at MIT, is the first comprehensive assessment of election administration in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Using data from 17 key indicators, the EPI makes it possible to compare election administration policy and performance across the states and from one election cycle to the next.
iPoll Databank - Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Comprehensive, up-to-date full text source for US nationwide public opinion. The iPoll database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to date.
Pew Research Center: U.S. Elections & Voters
Pew Research Center surveys on the subject of US elections and voting.

Center for American Women in Politics (Rutgers)
Source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation. This site presents data and analysis of women's voting behavior, including statistics on turnout and the gender gap in voting.
Center for Election Innovation & Research
A nonprofit founded in 2016 by David Becker whose mission is "to restore trust in the American election system and promote election procedures that encourage participation and ensure election integrity and security."
Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement (CIRCLE)
A research center focused on youth engagement in voting, housed in Tufts University.
Center for the Study of President and Congress
A nonpartisan think tank originally founded in 1965, CSPC's mission is to apply the lessons of history to address today’s political challenges; develop real-world strategic policy solutions by convening representatives from government, academia, and the private sector; and educate the next generation of leaders.
Open Secrets
Research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
United States Election Lab (UF)
Dr. Michael McDonald, an Associate Professor at the University of Florida, provides national and state voter turnout statistics from 1980 to the present.

This guide was inspired by the one originally created by Aimee Slater, Government Information and Social Sciences Librarian, at Brandeis University.

Vote!